Celiac and Gluten-free resources

One thing I learned about transitioning from our regular food to gluten-free cooking and eating is that it’s costly. However, while watching my daughter struggle with the basic necessity of eating, how could I not do everything I could do in my power to help her? So far, her symptoms haven’t subsided much, but we figure she dealt with it for many years before the diagnosis — a very typical problem for many people dealing with celiac — that she’s in a healing mode for now and it may take a while.

I’ve listed some of the resources that have helped to inform us about this condition. On Thursday, my daughter and I shopped at Bob’s Red Mill and were astounded at how it had changed from when we first shopped there over 10 years ago. It’s a bustling cafe and social hotspot! Lovely classical music was playing and the shoppers maneuvered around the cozy store in polite fashion. Helpful employees answered my questions about their gluten-free section.

Gluten-Free Girl is a fun blog with great information. Shauna is an excellent writer who makes sense of living with the gluten-free diagnosis. Celiac.com provides information and recipes as well as a forum. Gluten-Free goddess has many recipes. The first place I went for information, though, was Web MD, which has valuable information about Celiac disease.

Kimi at The Nourishing Gourmet has a delicious-looking recipe for Lemon Poppyseed Muffins that I can’t wait to try, since I bought about a pound of coconut flour and rice flour at Bob’s Red Mill. Ah, the smell of coconut flour is so good….

This new diagnosis for my daughter has given our family another opportunity to learn to help others succeed in life. It’s focused our diets on more intentional eating, hopefully, with positive effects.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Celiac and Gluten-free resources”

  1. Kimi @ The Nourishing Gourmet Says:

    Hey Katie,

    Sounds like you are being such a great mommy helping figure out gluten free snacks and food for your daughter. I know that’s a hard transition. She’s a lucky girl! I noticed that you had linked to the poppyseed muffin recipe on my site and I just wanted to let you know that a few of my readers had a hard time with it. I need to revamp it I think. I made it during the whole craziness of the taking care of Sono and I suspect that I may have written down the wrong measurements or something. šŸ˜¦ Anyways, just thought you should know!

    Blessings on your gluten free journey!

  2. Kathleen Says:

    Hi Kimi, it’s really good to hear from you. I hope you’re feeling well these days with your precious baby.

    I’ll look forward to the recipe revamp. Sono was blessed to have you as her daughter-in-law with such a deep committment to your husband and family. I have to tell you, I’ve changed many things in our diet because of the suggestions you’ve made on your blog. One of my latest interests is cookware and utensils friendly to the gluten-free lifestyle, as well as for general health. Your post on the Chantal pan was another item I looked into, but am wondering if just sticking with stainless is good enough. I love stainless.

    Thanks for the encouragement, and God bless you and your family šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

