Compelled by the love of Christ

“For the love of Christ constraineth us; because we thus judge, that if one died for all, then were all dead” – 2 Corinthians 5:14

[I just listened to this audio/video yesterday and was pondering that in my heart today before this encounter. God is good.]

She came out of nowhere, as I had just returned my shopping cart to the Walmart cart corral in the parking lot. I turned around to walk back to my car when the desperate-looking woman asked me for gas money for her and her male companion’s shabby old RV. With a quivering voice and yet a tearful bold plea, she gave some account that they couldn’t park their RV at the RV park because of some laws about the old ’70’s RV’s and needed gas money …. I didn’t know what to believe. Then I asked her where she was from, as I started to rummage through my purse for the little cash I had in there. I’m telling you she looked desperate, like someone hungry for food. Well, I found $4 and some change, so maybe I could give her $2 to cover the cost of the gas she said she needed (Oh no! WHAT was I THINKING?! I made a committment to myself and even taught my kids to NEVER feed an addict’s terrible habits of lying and drug and alcohol abuse. Well, she wasn’t technically homeless). That is when I really started to see such desperation on the woman’s face. I don’t know if it was because it really was because her RV needed $1.66 in gas or if she was jonesing for another fix of some sort. Something compelled me to give her the $2. Then I got into my car to head home.

That’s when God started to join in my conversation I was already having with myself in the car. 🙂

About halfway to the first stoplight it had occurred to me that I could have shared the Gospel with this desperate woman and her male companion. Or at least with just her. By the time I’d reached the light, I’d began to counter the thought in my head that I should go back and share the Gospel, and I told God, “Well, I’ll only go back if I have some Christian tract (literature explaining salvation through Jesus) to give them”. I was sort of wondering if I had any more in my purse, and by the time I’d left the first stoplight I had found one. It was an “Are you a good person?” tract, and inwardly I knew that was God telling me not to waste this opportunity. It wasn’t enough that I gave them money, for that was temporal. They needed, she needed to hear the Good News of salvation through Jesus Christ and the hope He brings. So, in an act of faith, I turned in at the second light and went back to Walmart.

Pulling up next to their RV, I looked around to see if she was in the parking lot. They were both in the RV. I wrote my first name on the tract and got out of the car and approached their RV. After I knocked on the door the man put his head into the cab and was surprised to see me. I asked if I could talk with his friend and she came up to the front of the cab. I said with a nervous smile, “God wouldn’t let me go home until I asked you this: If you were to die today, would you go to Heaven? You don’t need to answer me now, I’d just like you to read this”. I handed her the tract and she thanked me with a smile. I said goodbye and got into my car to head home. This happened Sunday 13th 2009, 4pm. I pray God planted a seed of hope in these people today.

“And that he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto him which died for them, and rose again …. Therefore if anyone is in Christ, they are a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” 2 Corinthians 5:15, 17

See the post and video I got from my friend Patty on Extreme Evangelism here.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Compelled by the love of Christ”

  1. carrie Says:

    I ran into this same family the day before in the Walmart parking lot. This time she was tearful and desperate because their RV needed a U-joint. I guess it wasn’t true but I also gave them some money. I left feeling discouraged and confused for the same reasons. I kicked myself later at my total lack of preparation to ask further probing questions. I’m so glad God laid it on your heart to share the gospel. Being “ripped off” doesn’t matter but their souls do.

  2. Kathleen Says:

    Carrie,

    Welcome to my blog! and thanks for your response here. It’s good to know that there will be others praying for these lost people. Your experience confirms to me that God is working this all out somehow for them. They have a very compelling approach, don’t they? 🙂

    It’s good to hear from you.

    – Kathleen

Leave a Reply

