Thermos Lunches

IMG_5074

Isn’t the Barbie Thermos cute? The Arctic Zone stainless steel is slick, too. I just bought these small thermal containers in preparation for my son and daughter’s lunch, who are both attending their second year at a local community college for their high school and college credits. These Thermos’ just add more food options for their lunches, and are fairly compact.

When I was young, I had a Partridge Family, and a Bionic Woman metal lunchbox. The Thermos’, though, had plastic interiors and the milk that my mother thoughtfully poured in them in the morning was usually room temperature by the time it was lunch time. 😦

Here are a few resources and recipes for Thermos lunches:

Lunch ideas

Thermos lunch recipes (pdf)

Lunch ideas from Mamapedia

More Thermos and lunch ideas from CheapCooking

Hot-packed lunch ideas

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Thermos Lunches”

  1. Ellen Says:

    My daughter just today packed some leftover french dip sauce, sliced roast beef, and a bun (plus some sliced carrots and cucumbers) for her lunch. This year she has access to a frig and a microwave, which certainly expands the lunch packing options! But you could easily do the french dip in a thermos if the child is capable of fishing out the meat and building a sandwich. in fact, tomorrow I think she’s bringing some leftover pulled pork and a bun.

  2. Kathleen Says:

    That’s a great idea, and I’m starting to get some more ideas besides “soup” to put in the thermos’.

    CheapCooking.com is a wonderful resource! I only wish that when I was starting my little family a few decades ago that I would have had access to such ease of information for recipes and tips. Thanks for all the great recipes and tips on your site. 🙂

Leave a Reply

