A heart given to love and know and follow Jesus Christ

My husband and I have been reading through the book of Hebrews lately. I’ve been meditating or mulling over this particular passage, Hebrews 8:10-13

“For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put my laws into their mind, and I will write them on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people. And they shall not teach everyone his fellow citizen, and everyone his brother, saying, ‘KNOW THE LORD,’ for all will know Me, from the least to the greatest of them. “For I will be merciful to their iniquities, and I will remember their sins no more.” When He said, “A new {covenant,}” He has made the first obsolete. But whatever is becoming obsolete and growing old is ready to disappear.

The first 3 verses of that passage are referring to the Old Testament prophecy of Jeremiah 31:31-34:

“Behold, days are coming,” declares the LORD, “when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah, not like the covenant which I made with their fathers in the day I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, My covenant which they broke, although I was a husband to them,” declares the LORD. “But this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel after those days,” declares the LORD, “I will put My law within them and on their heart I will write it; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people. “They will not teach again, each man [individual] his neighbor and each man his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they will all know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them,” declares the LORD, “for I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.”

In Revelation 5:9-10 it states:

“And they [those who are saved by Jesus Christ] sang a new song, saying, “Worthy are You to take the book and to break its seals; for You were slain, and purchased for God with Your blood [individuals] from every tribe and tongue and people and nation. “You have made them to be a kingdom and priests to our God; and they will reign upon the earth.”

If you want to know this Savior Jesus, He is there for you and brings hope, compassion and healing to the brokenhearted soul, whose burdens are heavy. His gift of salvation is free.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “A heart given to love and know and follow Jesus Christ”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    Interestingly, I found this commentary by the 1700’s Matthew Henry on blueletterbible:

    “He articles with them that they shall grow more and more acquainted with their God (v. 11): They shall all know me from the least to the greatest, insomuch that there shall not be so much need of one neighbour teaching another the knowledge of God. Here observe, [1.] In the want of better instruction, one neighbour should be teaching another to know the Lord, as they have ability and opportunity for it. [2.] This private instruction shall not be so necessary under the New Testament as it was under the Old. The old dispensation was shadowy, dark, ritual, and less understood; their priests preached but seldom, and but a few at a time, and the Spirit of God was more sparingly given out. But under the new dispensation there shall be such abundance of public qualified preachers of the gospel, and dispensers of ordinances statedly in the solemn assemblies, and so great a flocking to them, as doves to their windows, and such a plentiful effusion of the Spirit of God to make the ministration of the gospel effectual, that there shall be a mighty increase and spreading of Christian knowledge in persons of all sorts, of each sex, and of all ages. O that this promise might be fulfilled in our days, that the hand of God may be with his ministers, that a great number may believe and be turned to the Lord!”

    How wonderful to see people operating in this freedom of knowing Christ in our inward being!

Leave a Reply

