Childhood Memories

the-twelve-dancing-princesses-and-cinderella-lets-pretend

Some of my favorite memories of my childhood were when I was listening to my record albums, or reading books. This record album cover is from the “Let’s Pretend” series of fairy tales, and features the tale Cinderella, and on the second side The Twelve Dancing Princesses, both written by the Brothers Grimm. My sisters and I used to laugh whenever the record would skip in the same place in the Cinderella story — “and one of her crystal slippers/and one of her crystal slippers/and one of her crystal slippers …” I received this record sometime around the year 1970-71.

just-alike-princes

This is a book my mom used to read to me entitled, The Just Alike Princes. The story was about twin prince brothers who needed to learn to share their toys. This is an old book, over 40 years old, and I loved the colorful illustrations.

It’s fun to look back on the positive things that shaped us as we have grown.

Leave a Reply

