I shook the hand of a hero today

He probably wouldn’t want me to call him a hero. He doesn’t have a celebrity following, or a bestselling book. He doesn’t go around the country selling ideas at conferences aimed at people trying to improve their lives, but he has served in Iraq for 15 months telling dirtbag terrorists they’re going to Cuba. The response of the terrorists have been funny; they cry like babies. These are the same hate-filled men who blow up innocent men, women and children for the sake of their dominionist, hateful, religious beliefs. So, I thanked him when I met him for the first time today, for his service to our country. I wanted to thank him for serving humanity, too, because so many people he’s protected in that region are alive because of him and military personnel just like him.

This young man’s age is what amazes me. I won’t mention his name because I want him protected from potential harm in the future. He is 23 years old, just one year older than my son, who also serves in the Army. One of the stories this good friend of my son’s told me when I asked about the kind of harm he’s been in, interacting with terrorists (preparing myself a bit for when and if my son is ever in that situation) was something you might expect to see on the TV show “24” or something.

This young man and his fellow military personnel overtook a house that terrorists were operating from. Looking down the sight of his gun, he took into custody a terrorist constructing a bomb. Now, I couldn’t possibly relate this account as good as he could, because the language of soldiers is a sacred one, where only those who have trained and fought side by side could understand this perspective of the cost of freedom. This young man has seen things too horrible to imagine for such a young soul to see. Things like watching innocents being killed by hate and the self-sacrificing bravery of their fellow servicemen.

Meeting this young man that I’ve heard such good things about from my own son for the last several years was really an eye-opener. You see, I came out of a group of idealists that thought that everything they did in the limelight was “Doing Hard Things”. Well, what they promote about themselves, giving themselves military “rankings” for their political support of a politician was kind of an insult to those who actually HAVE done something hard that they can only play-act about to gain celebrity. Come to think of it, I can’t think of any time except once that the military personnel in the congregation were openly recognized. In fact, I actually heard a few times the military being put down by some of the more involved and opinionated people there. Though the people who serve in the military aren’t recognized by some from that congregation, those brave military personnel still defend the Constitution which gives those people the right to express their exclusionist or dominionist speech.

I thanked that young man and welcomed him into our home. I was thankful that my son has friends that matter in his life. I was thankful that a bit of that life experience and focus his friend has impacted my son for his future. That young 23-year-old has an opportunity to serve for the White House and I’m glad to have met him.

If you get a chance, thank an Iraq veteran, or any veteran, for that matter. They are making a positive change in the world, especially for those poor, oppressed civilians there, who live under the threat of terrorists on a daily basis. Say a prayer, and send some encouragement. They are truly doing a difficult, but noble task.

Looking forward to a bright and Happy New Year!

2 Responses to “I shook the hand of a hero today”

  1. Elizabeth F. Says:

    Wow, that is simply awesome! I must say, I was nodding and agreeing with every word you said! I love what you wrote!

    Can I use this entry as a ‘guest speaker’-type re-post on my blog? I want to spread this word!

    Thanks,
    ~ Elizabeth F.

  2. Lynn Says:

    Amen to everything you wrote!

Leave a Reply

