Christmas Snow

Two days before Christmas and all through the house … not a creature was using electricity or accessing hot showers or browsing the internet … !

copy-of-img_4020

We made it through with a few close calls on the icy roads. One particularly terrifying half-hour in my dear husband’s Jeep getting high-centered on a snow drift, was enough to make me wish for warmer days.

copy-of-img_4045

In Northwest Oregon it IS a big deal since we don’t “do” snowy winters here — especially the busy days of Christmas shopping — because the road crews get overworked on the hilly, icy roads.

copy-of-img_4041

My sons walked 3 miles into town to get some exercise and work off some steam and my daughter and I melted pots of snow on our woodstove for various and sundry purposes.

copy-of-img_4008

It turned into a very memorable Christmas Eve and our family was able to check on some neighbors who are elderly next door. It turned out their pipes froze and they had no water to share with their special adult daughter who lives with them.

copy-of-img_4059

It was such a blessing to me to visit with them and listen to their daughter tell us with excitement how they were leaving cookies out for Santa that night. 😉 As she visited with my family, she told us about her various pets and how one was in Heaven, and I was reminded of Jesus’ words reminding us to have faith like a child.

copy-of-img_4058

As we shared some of our home-baked Christmas cookies and store-bought water we all rejoiced in living out in the country where it is so beautiful. It’s wonderful to have kind neighbors who look out for each other, and say prayers for each other during hard times.

copy-of-img_4060

Having not done any real Christmas dinner shopping, I thawed a humble rump roast for our meal along with as many comfort foods as I could creatively prepare. It turned out to be a delicious meal especially so with my husband’s fabulous mashed potatoes, my fresh-baked bread and whimsical Gingerbread men cookies decorated by my daughter for dessert. We ended the evening watching The Nativity Story on video. Tears came to my eyes as I watched again the “birth” of my Savior, Jesus, realizing He came to save me and did so in love.

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas. 🙂

copy-of-img_4055

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Christmas Snow”

  1. Mrs. C Says:

    BRR!!! Happy Christmas to you, too!

  2. Little old me Says:

    all that snow looks lovely

  3. Kathleen Says:

    It was like Narnia around here! 🙂

    I’ve never had a snowy Christmas, so in that, I was happy to experience it. It was the being without electricity and running water for 2 days that wasn’t so fun.

    Welcome to my blog, Little old me. Thanks for your comment.

    Mrs. C.,
    Happy Christmas-time and Many Happy Days for the coming New Year to you, too!

  4. Elizabeth F. Says:

    I don’t think I’ll ever forget that Christmas! 😉

Leave a Reply

