Music Flows Through Our Home

Music has always been a part of my life. Music has been the way we express our feelings in our home and the diversity of music styles and preferences adds flavor to everyday life. For example, in one room, the kitchen, you can hear Vietnamese pop music playing, while my daughter is preparing sushi (Japanese). In another room, my son’s bedroom, often you’ll hear Moonlight Sonata playing on his computer and at other times the theme music from the game “Medal of Honor” is playing (wonderful, moving pieces by Michael Giacchino). I’ll walk by my daughter’s room to hear Harry Connick Jr, Frank Sinatra or Cam Ly, Chris Tomlin, David Crowder Band, Newsboys and Star Wars Themes (you can hear her music on her playlist here). When my oldest son was living at home, you often heard his own musical guitar abilities or his drums. I do miss those days.

Walking past my daughter’s room is my husband’s and my bedroom where you can hear John Williams music (Harry Potter theme music is really wonderful, though I haven’t seen the movies yet, except for small portions). You can hear a few of my music favorites here, and also here. My dear husband likes to create his own music on the guitar, strumming happily some praise songs. Occasionally, I’ll dust off the piano and play, or resuscitate the clarinet (I’m a bit rusty on that). I’ve tried my hand at writing lyrics for songs and really enjoy that. Lately, I feel that I’ve been inspired by God’s Spirit to compose my own, personal praise and worship songs. I’ve recorded a few of my creations to work on in the future, and hopefully can put some real time into them.

Music is wonderful!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Music Flows Through Our Home”

  1. Elizabeth F. Says:

    Yes! Music IS wonderful! 😀

Leave a Reply

