Thankful in the U.S.A.

I watched John McCain’s address last night and became teary-eyed when he described his reasons for loving his country. I wasn’t a huge McCain fan before, but after hearing his humble thankfulness for his country, it inspired me. The speech’s highpoints, I think, were when he emphasized the unity of our great country. That’s more important than one man’s ambition. As far as Palin; I find she’s a kindred spirit and am pleased she’s his running mate. Last night’s speech, though, solidified my vote. — my recent sentiments, expressed on the local Bob Miller in the Morning talk show, AM 860 KPAM

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Thankful in the U.S.A.”

  1. Lynn Says:

    Mine, too, Kathleen. Anybody who has that much integrity, and who was broken of so much pride, I am going to stand behind. Add to that his years of experience, and that he doesn’t act in ways just to get re-elected (think – support of the troops – he said he’d rather win a war and lose an election), and he’s the one I’m voting for.

  2. Kathleen Says:

    Lynn, I have a son who may be heading into that war zone soon. I would most definitely want John McCain, with a praying sister in the Lord, Sarah Palin, making decisions that may very well affect my son’s life. I don’t have that kind of confidence in Obama and his controversial wife, and Biden, who’s been living off of the taxpayers for decades.

    Also, last year I think I read an article that John and Cindy McCain had adopted some children. That just struck me as another reason to admire him and Cindy.

    I found a speech on youtube Sarah Palin made in Alaska at a church she got baptized in, and I got the feeling like I could have known her and sat next to her in a church service. Thank God for her realness. I’m praying for her and for John McCain.

  3. peaceofchange Says:

    Hi Kathleen,

    I found your comment at Wade Burleson’s site very insightful and felt that we probably had alot in common.

    I also loved listening to McCain and Palin…very encouraging and they solidified my vote as well.

    I’d love to hear more about how you got out of the legalism/patriarchy cirlces.

    Peace

  4. Kathleen Says:

    Hi, welcome,

    Well, I’m still kind of recovering from the hurts of trusting leadership at my old FIC, but I’ve got to give God the glory for what He’s shown me in His Word.

    When I still found myself kind of agreeing with what my FIC was teaching, I came in contact online with a group of women who had come out of much more legalistic patriarchy, and some from Scott Brown’s FIC. The teachings that they were exposing as false as according to the Bible opened my eyes that a lot of legalism and presupposition goes into the patriarchy teachings. I started just digging into the Scriptures, reading them in context, praying, reading again, and my eyes were opening to a perspective without as much presuppostion.

    I was convinced, with the way the patriarchalists within some of this movement are taking liberties with God’s Word and adding to where God has not. That was my first confirmation it was wrong.

    Then, the personal interactions drew the line in the sand for me. I could see the lengths people in power would go to make sure everyone was “in line” with their way of thinking, even in the political realm (I assure you, I’m conservative and wasn’t some flaming liberal bent on disrupting some church service or something).

    The group of online women, through truewomanhood.wordpress and private emails with some committed, godly, moms and wives (of many children, I might add) helped me through some of the hardest times. They understood all too well how painful the process is. I didn’t even suffer a fraction of what some of them had in their church experiences. They are still, to this day, some of the most logical, well-reasoned, articulate women who are passionate for the Lord that I’ve ever met.

    I’d love to know more about your church experience, too.

  5. Brenda Says:

    Kathleen,

    Most of my story is on my website now. I stumbled upon Molly at Adventures in Mercy, which led me to WWF, which led me to Under Much Grace and I think that is where true healing began. Their sites inspired me to blog so I started writing here:

    http://peaceofchange.wordpress.com/author/peaceofchange/

    I haven’t written all the details, too painful…I think they will come out over time.

    I know that we weren’t in as deep as some, but as SBC people (my husband was a pastor) we experienced alot of spiritual abuse…which I didn’t know there was a name for it…I learned that at Under Much Grace.

    I really don’t have anyone here to talk too. It’s embarrassing number one. I can’t believe I fell for it…I feel like an idiot if I tell people because “normal people” don’t get it. The other people are still SBC/FIC or have left for another wacked church.

    We have friends in PA who are trying to get us involved in the Sovereign Grace Ministries churches. Are you familiar with that? You mention names that they throw around alot.

    Thanks for responding. I really appreciate it.

    Brenda

  6. Kathleen Says:

    Thanks for your blog link. I’ll check it out.

    Oh, I know a little bit about SG Ministries/church. Josh Harris was mentored by CJ Mahaney (another cultic-like) with his own flavor of spiritual abuse that can resemble the hofcc experience, too.

    Go here http://www.sgmsurvivors.com/ to read about the many experiences and thoughts of people who left those churches. I’ve written a few comments there, as well, because they brought up Gregg Harris, Josh’s dad. I’ve read that it’s getting extreme in some of the SG churches.

    Some of the things that the survivors refer to are the leaders having so much control over the families; courtship (naturally, since Harris wrote the book); Apostolic Leadership; the leaders, when confronted, turn it back on their questioners about things; and on it goes. Many of The Rebelution conferences are held in SG churches, too.

    I could write more, but I need to get out the door. I’ll be stopping by your blog later.

    I really appreciate you sharing, too.

    Kathleen

  7. peaceofchange Says:

    Hey Kathleen,

    I’ve been checking out the sgmsurvivors site….oh my…

    Brenda

  8. oneeyedpete Says:

    Hi Kathleen,

    I finally got a chance to look at your blog! You are very insightful. I read your long blog on the “exclusivity’ and didn’t know how to make a comment on it since I am new to this stuff. It was uncanny, I thought I was the only one who experienced some of these thoughts.

    One eyed Pete.

  9. Kathleen Says:

    I’m so glad you stopped by, One eyed Pete. I think it would be great if these concerns I shared on my little blog could have been shared in the free marketplace of thoughts and ideas (like among leadership), but sadly, that did not seem to be with some people. I did try to convey my concerns in the past, and Russell shared our concerns about family matters involving leadership’s children when it directly involved our children, but leadership had either no response to our concerns, or the person redirected my concerns by saying I had sin in my life. [clarification: this person came to confront me at my home a while ago, and made some comment along the lines of, there were dark spiritual things going on. This person was attempting to find out why I hadn’t been attending at one time and found reason in that conversation to basically call me out on my unforgiveness. This person did not seem to understand their exclusive teachings were marginializing and spiritually hurting some of us.]

    That is not an acceptable response when confronting a leader with their ideas/teaching (and I’m not talking about basic Bible tenets of salvation, grace, sin; it’s the *extra* teaching taught as “biblical” ideals that we should emulate, ect.) or their family’s interactions and how it’s affected someone in their congregation. Even after some of these encounters, my family and I continued to fellowship and participate in the particular congregation, but there were serious concerns at that point.

    I can’t tell you how heartbroken, broken in spirit and utterly grieved over what has been one of the top “disallusionment” experiences I’ve ever faced. But it is for God’s glory and my good that I can see things that I couldn’t see before. The hurt still remains to this day, though.

    I love Jesus for what He’s done for me — It is by grace I’ve been saved, through faith, and that not of myself; a gift so that I don’t boast. My dear husband, Russell — as you know — has been a great source of encouragement and strength. His eyes have opened to things (even if it was after he had a memorable encounter with a particular leader) and has supported my growth and tenderness in this area. He’s recently reminded me of the passage in 1 John that we are to love the brethren. I’m asking God, “Who is my brother, Lord?” Russell then reminded me to even love those who aren’t my brother, or who can’t reciprocate. I’m utterly unable in myself to do this. I cry out to God because of the grief and pain and the twisting of God’s Word to suit agendas. I don’t want to love those who have manipulated. I do pray that God would reveal the truth of all things, and I know that He will.

    Your one comment here, One eyed Pete, has brought more comfort to me in the last few months than I can say. I also think that it was not chance that we discussed my blog so long ago. I do know that God is building and edifying His church, His bride, making her ready to meet Him.

    Thanks and God bless, One eyed Pete. 🙂

Leave a Reply

