It’s not right for a woman to read. Soon she gets ideas … “thinking” …

Yes, that’s a quote from one of my favorite family films:  Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.  Gaston, is the character in the film who says the quote to Belle, the strong, brave and independent heroine in the film, because he views women much like the trophies of antlers he uses to decorate his life.  They are objects to be used in submission to his selfish ways.

So, I’ve been reading.  And thinking.  And praying.  It’s very liberating and yet, at the same time, very sobering.  I’m responsible for the Light that the Lord has shown on me in my understanding.  Convictions and liberations because of the Gospel of Jesus Christ in my life are coming into better focus right now, so I’m sorting through it and found that certain books, like Pagan Christianity, have been very helpful in discerning my spiritual walk with God.  The Bible has been my companion, and His Holy Spirit my truest Friend.

As I was studying the book of Hosea, (while enjoying lunch at a Walmart McDonalds) I was amazed at chapter 13, where Hosea speaks as the prophet of God against Israel’s idolatries, including forsaking the worshipping of God and turning to fertility gods.  He declares in verse 4 “Yet I am the LORD thy God from the land of Egypt, and thou shalt know no god but me; for there is no savior beside me.”  Do you see Jesus in that statement?  I do.  In verses 7-8, the LORD likens Himself as a lion, leopard, and especially as a “bear that is bereaved of her whelps”.  He will be, now and forevermore, our King, even if people try to replace Him with earthly kings.  I wrote some notes down as I was reading this chapter.  My observations:

Jesus, LORD, Yahweh, God; the Guiding Lord, by the pillar of fire by night, and pillar of cloud by day in the desert to the nation of Israel.

He is Savior; He is like a lion, leopard, and a “bear bereaved of her whelps”.

In Him is our Help.

He is the King, though they/some reject Him for earthly kings.  He gives them kings to rule over them “in His anger.”  He takes them away “in His wrath”.

He ransoms His people from the power of the grave.  He redeems us from death.  He is a “plague” to death.  He is the “destruction” of the grave.

The LORD our God sent the “wind of judgement.”

Those who forget the Lord Jesus and His completed work, who follow after idols  —  though they are fruitful in their flesh, they will be brought low.

God, grant us repentance to trust in You alone in our walk with You.  Let Your Spirit guide us to rest in You, and not in our works. amen.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “It’s not right for a woman to read. Soon she gets ideas … “thinking” …”

  1. Jill Says:

    The sequel to “Pagan Christianity?” is out now. It’s called “Reimagining Church”. It picks up where “Pagan Christianity” left off and continues the conversation. (“Pagan Christianity” was never meant to be a stand alone book; it’s part one of the conversation.) “Reimagining Church” is endorsed by Leonard Sweet, Shane Claiborne, Alan Hirsch, and many others. You can read a sample chapter at http://www.ReimaginingChurch.org. It’s also available on Amazon.com. Frank is also blogging now at http://frankviola.wordpress.com/

  2. Kathleen Says:

    Hi Jill,

    Sorry your comment sat in moderation. The only reason it did was because of the links, because usually comments come right through. I readjusted my settings 🙂

    My husband is currently reading “Reimagining Church”, and “The Untold Story of the New Testament Church”. These are great resources, and he shares with me what he’s reading from it, until I get my hands on them. I wish more believers could get ahold of these perspectives. My long-held presuppositions and ideas about church and walking with God have been challenged.

    Thanks for the links; I’ll be glad to read those.

Leave a Reply

