Cletus, Take the Reel

That’s the title of a funny parody of the song, “Jesus Take the Wheel” by Carrie Underwood.  I really like the original by Miss Underwood, but the parody is very witty.  Take a look at “Cletus, Take the Reel” on this youtube video (it’s clean). 

I’ve done parodies for awhile now, and have alot of fun with them.  Like Weird Al, I don’t pick on anyone out of meanness, but everyone is fair game.  I wrote some song titles here in this blog post, “Polka-ing Fun”.  I’ve also written many of my own whole parody songs, one to the tune of “O, Christmas Tree”.  The most recent song I’ve rewritten is to the song, “Burnin’ Up” by The Jonas Brothers, a pop boy band.  The original video of the song is here on YouTube.  It’s also clean and is about teen infatuation; sort of the Disney genre.  I’ve changed the lyrics and song title from “Burnin’ Up” to “Cleanin’ Up”, when a friend of mine asked me to rewrite some lyrics for popular songs to present the parodies in a “5-day” club to do outreach to kids in the community.  You can find my version of lyrics to the song, relating to “cleanliness” compared to the original lyrics here.

Update:  I’ve just found some funny videos by Tim Hawkins, the songwriter/comedian who wrote “Cletus, Take the Reel”.  He’s got a funny comedy routine on how corporations may someday parody some Christian songs for their marketing.  Interesting thought. 🙂

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Cletus, Take the Reel”

  1. choseninhim Says:

    “Cleanin’ Up”

    I’m hot
    you know
    You go around
    with the hose.
    You tell me, how I smell
    You hold onto your nose.

    Chorus:
    I’m slipping into the shower
    and I’m tryin’ to not offend my brother,
    I need to turn the temperature hotter
    ‘Cause I’m cleanin’ up, cleanin’ up
    for you baby.

    Come on now!

    I smelled (I smelled)
    so bad (so bad)
    Can’t stand myself … man!
    I grab soap (grab soap)
    Brush my teeth (my teeth)
    all by myself,
    Now I’m puttin’ on the Ritz!

    Chorus:
    I’m slipping into the shower
    and I’m tryin’ to not offend my brother
    I need to turn the temperature hotter
    ‘Cause I’m cleanin’ up, cleanin’ up
    for you baby.

    Bridge:
    Walk in the room,
    everyone smells Irish Spring
    Oh, staring me down
    I know you can smell it too.

    Chorus:
    I’m slipping into the shower
    and I’m tryin’ to not offend my brother,
    I need to turn the temperature hotter
    ‘Cause I’m cleanin’ up, cleanin’ up
    for you baby
    I’m slipping into the shower
    and I’m tryin’ to not offend my brother
    I need to turn the temperature hotter,
    ‘Cause I’m cleanin’ up, cleanin’ up,
    for you baby.

    Rap/spoken, by one speaker, with (shout/speak chorus in parenteses):
    Cleanin’up
    (in the house tonight)
    The brothers singin’ loud
    (and we smell alright!)
    Pick up your pants,
    (don’t try and fight it!)
    Cleanin’ up is good
    (and that’s no lie!)
    Stop, wash your hands
    (don’t forget the soap)
    that’s how we’re cleanin’ up
    (more and more)
    I got toothpaste with me
    (brushin’ it down!)
    Come on guys
    (bring the chorus around!)

    Chorus:
    I’m slipping into the shower
    and I’m tryin’ to not offend my brother
    I need to turn the temperature hotter,
    ‘Cause I’m cleanin’ up, cleanin’ up
    for you baby,
    Cleanin’ Up, Cleanin’ up,
    for you baby!

    – rewritten lyrics of “Cleanin’ Up” by Kathleen F.
    Original lyrics of the song, “Burnin’ Up”, performed by The Jonas Brothers
    —————-

    Original lyrics:

    LYRICS:
    (Verse 1)
    I’m hot
    You’re cold
    You go around
    Like you know
    Who I am
    But you don’t
    You got me on my toes (toes, toes)

    (Chorus)
    I’m slippin’ into the lava
    and I’m tryin’ to kepp from going under
    Baby
    who turned the temperature hotter
    cause I’m burning up
    Burning up
    For you baby

    (Verse 2)
    I fell (I fell)
    So fast (So fast)
    I can’t hold
    Myself back (back, back, back)
    High heels (High heels)
    Red dress (Red dress)
    All by yourself
    Gotta catch my breath

    (Chorus)
    I’m slippin’ into the lava
    I’m trying to keep from going under
    Baby
    who turned the temperature hotter
    cause I’m burning up
    Burning up
    For you baby

    (Bridge)
    You walk in the room
    All I can see is you
    You’re staring me down
    I know you feel it too

    (Chorus)
    I’m slippin’ into the lava
    and I’m trying to keep from going under
    Baby
    who turned the temperature hotter
    cause I’m burning up
    Burning up
    For you baby

    I’m slippin’ into the lava
    and I’m trying to keep from going under
    Baby
    who turned the temperature hotter
    cause I’m burning up
    Burning up
    For you baby

    RAP BY BIG ROB
    Burning up in this place tonight
    gonna sing it loud
    and we’re feeling right
    get up and dance
    don’t try to fight it
    big rob for real
    and that’s no lie
    Stop drop and roll
    and hit the floor
    it keeps on burning up more and more
    I got JB with me
    layin’ it down
    Come on boys lets bring the chorus around

    I’m slippin’ into the lava
    and I’m trying to keep from going under
    Baby
    who turned the temperature hotter
    cause I’m burning up
    Burning up
    For you baby
    I’m burning up
    Burning up
    For you baby

  2. choseninhim Says:

    Some of my other parodies are, “Be Transformed!” (parody of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast’s “Be Our Guest” song), “Pray Together” (parody of The Youngblood’s 1960’s tune “Get Together”), and “L-O-R-D” (parody of the Village People’s “YMCA” tune). They’re all full versions of the songs, not just the song titles.

  3. choseninhim Says:

    Tim Hawkins, the comedian/singer kind of reminds me of Brad Stine, the Christian comedian.

Leave a Reply

