Good Stuff and Not-So-Good Stuff

The Good Stuff

June’s here and I’ve been busy being interested in other people’s thoughts that I haven’t really thought to write down any of my own here lately.  Though I don’t have any good scone recipes to share with anybody, and since there have been very few good Christian books written lately 😉 I’ve been just waiting for something to blog about.  Well, I guess I misspoke.  I have a dear Christian neighbor and friend who wrote a fiction novel about a fantasy land where virtue and adventure is discovered.  Muirecka is a story for those who like the Lord of the Rings.  I know G.L.L. Anderson personally and know that this person loves the Lord.

Muirecka

You can find this adventurous novel at Amazon.

Now the Not-So-Good Stuff

I’m not going to be popular, but I’ve got to get this out in the open before I make myself ill.  I’m done with certain people’s vision and many advising us how to live.  I’m done with the new wave of unending “biblical” advice so that we don’t “lose” a generation (remember:  no one can snatch them out of the Father’s hands).  I’m done with the fear-based teaching and scare tactics.  For many years I’ve tried to reconcile in my mind that some of the teachings that my family and I have been taught have been good “biblical” teachings.  However, much of it just has been so blatantly full of holes, with no one (within the local leadership) wanting to have a dialogue on them.  I’m not talking about the teachings on the Scriptures that are clear about Grace, Love, Mercy and the perfect Sacrifice of Jesus for our sins and His powerful victory through His resurrection to secure our Hope in Him.  No, it’s the extra teachings that have been so emphasized that have put me at odds with certain teachers and has caused me terrible grief over the last couple of years, and especially over the past few months.

This blog post I just put up will explain many things I’ve struggled with and has brought heartache and frustration in our household.  I’m finding that it’s getting harder to find people who just want to lift up the Gospel and live their lives for Him, wherever they are in life, and not follow the doctrines of men out of fear.  I feel like a burden has been on my household.  Like some friends of mine said on another blog:  Many of these teachers have home-based millstone manufacturing businesses

Here’s the blog post:  Exclusivity, Condescension, Preferential Teachings and Why I Disagree Strongly With These Teachings

7 Responses to “Good Stuff and Not-So-Good Stuff”

  1. Mrs. C Says:

    Don’t you know that any woman who works is going to hell?

    (kidding)

    Sometimes we put too many restrictions on each other instead of looking at what the SPIRIT of the scripture being quoted would be. Can’t we all just get along and on questionable items say, well I personally feel convicted that (dresses, no working whatever blah blah) because (bible verse, prayer blah blah whatever) and leave it at that?? When did “how I feel about issue X after prayer and Bible-reading” become “how Christians MUST feel about issue X if they’re real sheep?”

    Ya know? It’s actually abusive, I’m thinkin’.

  2. choseninhim Says:

    Actually, emphasizing that a woman should really be under the leading of a man, in every sphere, and emphasizing that really the only sphere is the home for women and their influence for Christ IS handling things in a non-responsible way.

    For instance; I talked with a woman in my congregation that after years of trying to reconcile with her unbelieving husband, they divorced and she needed to raise their children for part of the time. She also homeschooled them and is a stay-at-home mother. Her kids are now teens, some married and out on their own, all but one that needs some very deliberate one-on-one interaction because of learning difficulties.

    This woman relayed to me the need for more income coming into her household, because her ex-husband wouldn’t/couldn’t provide. She has been a part of this congregation for nearly a decade and is tight with many in the leadership and yet never knew, when I told her, of one of the leader’s wives going to college to get a degree in housing/interior design. The leader’s wife also has teens at home. This is never emphasized as an alternative (college, career) for women at the church, as marriage, missions and entreprenuerism is mostly promoted. Women being in the workforce, going to college or holding a career is kept on the “down low” so as to give more glory to those women who are having 10+ children as being “biblical” examples.

    The facts and quotes are out there for anyone to google and read or listen. This particular leadership is promoting a very exclusive way of life that neglects to address the real “rubber meets the road” kind of challenges that real life brings.

    I get more upset over the fact that Mr. Harris continues to claim that he isn’t judging other men who work for corporations, or other businesses, when in fact he is doing that when he stated in the audio from Bethlehem Baptist Church:

    He equates that those men who work outside the home are “weak and lacking in competency because they’ve outsourced many of the fundamental responsibilities of life” (his own words!!) and that they’re lazy, and not “doing hard things”. He says in regards to not doing these hard things to “take a hard right, instead of a lazy left”. If you ask him if he’s really putting down those people who don’t own their own business, or who have careers managing another person’s business (such as restaurants) he will tell you that you only “misunderstood” him.

    My husband is an area supervisor for 3 McDonalds his boss owns. Do you know how condescending Mr. Harris and others in the congregation who are devoted followers of Mr. Harris’ teachings have been to my husband and to anyone who would think to have their teens go to work in such establishments? It’s heartbreaking (and I mean that, really). I tried so hard to shove down my feelings of us (our family) not “doing hard things” around such folk, but after a while, I got the hint.

    The next thing that Mr. Harris will say in relation to what we and others who don’t own our own businesses is “be fruit inspectors” of people’s liberty garden. That’s how he guilts people into buying his marketing messages. He doesn’t just preach these messages from his homeschooling seminars (that he tries to guilt and persuade even his church members to buy tickets to, via email messages), he preaches it from the pulpit during Sunday sermons. He also extensively teaches it at hofcc’s new “Family Room” gatherings at a local country club they hold once a month. Most of the messages there have been on men’s roles in marriage, women’s roles to support a husband’s vision, etc. They highly recommended their members to attend these Family Room gatherings, though for YEARS the church has prided itself in its lack of outside “programs” that take away from the family.

    I’ve ranted, but there’s so much more I could say.

  3. choseninhim Says:

    I’ve been a stay-at-home mom for most of my children’s lives. There were a few years there when they were very young that I worked at McDonalds as a crew person to earn some extra income while my husband cared for our children opposite my schedule (tag-team), continued to be a store manager and went to Multnomah School of the Bible for 4+ years (and studied Greek, too). I can’t tell you how difficult it was for our marriage, finances (practically none) and family during those years, because it really took its toll on us to the point that I was pregnant with my 2nd child (in my 5th month), no health insurance and suffering from an appendicitis that had to be surgically dealt with. (My daughter is alive and well!) It was the prompting of the Holy Spirit that made me tell my husband that I was deathly ill that allowed him to take me to the E.R., because I didn’t want to place any more financial burden on him (and didn’t realize I was having an appendicitis). I can’t imagine a single mother having to go through these kinds of things alone, and under the impression that there’s no place for her in the church’s view of “biblical” women.

  4. Mrs. C Says:

    Kate, I cannot imagine what your bill was. With Patrick, it was well over $18,000 and we did not have a pregnancy to complicate the surgery. I’m so glad you are well!!

    You know, I blogged about this sort of attitude not too long ago. On the surface, I make my own skirts, homeschool, have the six kids, etc. But I think I shouldn’t be telling you how to live!! The only thing is, if you’re a Christian and say, were sleeping around and blogging about it I would tell you that I feel it’s wrong because of what GOD says in the Bible and how I believe the words in the Bible are true. Not to hit you on the head with, but to beg you to come back to the sheepfold where it’s safe, with much fear and love.

    May God bless you and keep you today. You have an important message.

  5. choseninhim Says:

    Thanks, your words are an encouragement. I think if you knew me in person you’d find I value the same things you do when it comes to raising up children in the knowledge and grace and love of the Lord Jesus. It’s just when the extra burdens to live up to another man’s lifestyle come into play that I’m grieved and find the Bible doesn’t support what some would have us think.

    My husband and I lead a quiet life (except for my little blog here 🙂 ) and just pray for our young adult children and their lives to glorify Christ in all that they do. It’s not going to look like somebody else’s cookie cutter model of family living.

    And btw, God has been so gracious to provide for all our needs and especially that one medical instance was an absolute financial miracle/blessing. There have been others, too, so I know that it’s not just about us needing to “own our own business” in order to be a “biblical” example of christian maturity. That is another example of some of the burden we’ve had for some extra-biblical teachings that focus on man’s works instead of the glorious Gospel of grace.

    You’re so kind to stick around while I’ve been sorting through some of this. I know I’ll have some more positive things to blog about. In fact, someone in my immediate family just had such a remarkable and uplifting transformation recently, and has really benefitted from coming out from under some of the oppressive atmosphere that I’d love to blog about, but because of confidentialily issues and respect, I’ll just have to beam and be excited here locally. 🙂 God is Good, and His mercies endure forever!

  6. thatmom Says:

    Kate, these writings are inspirational to me. Keep ’em coming! You are NOT the crazy one!!!

  7. choseninhim Says:

    Karen, that encouragement from you means so very much to me. Thank you for your blogs, and for the opportunity to grow in my knowledge and faith in Christ.

Leave a Reply

