Are You a Standard Bearer or an Image Bearer?

Over at the truewomanhood blog, thatmom (Karen) included some great links to read.  Click on this link to read Norm Wakefield’s articles (read 1st article, then the 2nd article, 3rd) to understand the difference in the Christian church between Standard Bearers and Image Bearers. (This is a series that Karen at thatmom first linked to on her blog.)

It’s hard to be in a situation where you or I may be among others, especially in the homeschool culture, who hold up a Standard (an opinion derived from Scripture, but not mandated from Scripture), but you or I don’t reflect the same high Standard in our own family/Christian walk.  It can be discouraging.  I often quote the apostle Paul, “O, wretched man that I am; who shall deliver me from the body of this death?  I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord.  Romans 7:24-25

I recently spoke at a women’s meeting giving my perspective on loving our husbands as Christian wives.  I was on a panel of 5 speakers and my perspective was on how to love being enabled by the Spirit of God to love through very difficult trials in marriage.  My message was focused on what Christ has done FOR me and His faithful love for me.  Others had helpful advice on how to live with our husbands and please them.  My main concern was for women to gain their identity in Christ, and to understand a little better the transforming power of His love and grace for us, especially in times of deep aloneness and trial.  One woman was particularly interested in my message and shared how vulnerable she was, too, in her marriage and was encouraged by my message of hope in Christ.  He, Jesus, is the True Image of Love made manifest to us.

H.T. to thatmom for sharing those links on the truewomanhood blog.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Are You a Standard Bearer or an Image Bearer?”

  1. Corrie Says:

    Kate,

    Great post. Jesus is our Hope!

  2. choseninhim Says:

    Yes, indeed, Corrie. Jesus is our Hope and First Love. He chose me before the foundation of the world (Ephesians 1) and is Faithful, even when we were faithless. The Centrality is not our home (V. Baucham, et. al – FIC movement), our marriages (Patriarchy, Gothard, et. al — as a standard by which all others must follow), our children (the new generation of book-writing homeschool graduates who have all the answers — um, right). The Centrality is Jesus, who is our Hope, our Salvation and Light in this dark world.

    Thanks for the much needed encouragement, Corrie.

    – Kathleen (Kate)

  3. TulipGirl Says:

    It is very, very easy for us–as Believers–to fall into the trap of having a “higher moral standard.” It is so easy for us to latch onto the so-called best ways of doing things. It is so easy for us to lose sight of the Gospel and our Saviour.

    Why is it? Why do we so easily fall prey to that?

    I’ve seen it again and again in my life and the lives of dear Christians around me. . . I don’t know why we are vulnerable in this way. But I do know that it entraps us and keeps us from Christ.

  4. choseninhim Says:

    I’ve seen it, too, and have experienced the hard path of broken standards. I am reminded of this Bible passage:

    He [Jesus] also told this parable to some who trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and treated others with contempt:

    “Two men went up into the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector.The Pharisee, standing by himself, prayed thus: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax collector.‘I fast twice a week; I give tithes of all that I get.’But the tax collector, standing far off, would not even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’ I tell you, this man went down to his house justified, rather than the other. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but the one who humbles himself will be exalted.” – Luke 19:9-14

    And this, from Isaiah 6:5:

    “Then said I, Woe [is] me! for I am undone; because I [am] a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.”

    I’m just as bewildered about falling victim to the trap of “higher moral standards” as you, TulipGirl. I want to prevent hardships and looking immature spiritually, too. I’m learning some things the hard way, and in some ways, that’s really humbling.

Leave a Reply

