Thankful for Encouragement

One of the things I’m thankful to God for is the encouragement from other sisters in the Lord.   I receive such encouragement in my spirit when I go to Karen’s blog (thatmom) and read her thoughtful posts and podcasts.  Especially encouraging to me as a homeschool mom was the podcast on November 9th featuring the testimony of Jeannie Bauer at the 5th Annual Treasures of a Mother’s Heart Day of Encouragement.  In that one podcast my fears of my children’s “performance in homeschool” in comparison to other homeschoolers I know were put to rest when I listened to the real-ness in Jeannie’s voice about her children.

It’s good for us to be real and transparent about our weaknesses as homeschool parents.  The world is looking at us and judging us, not just how polished up and “perfect” we can present our lives, but how we handle what God has given us, in the form of trials and weaknesses, to try us like precious metal in the fire.  Too often I see others with the wonderfully organized homes and fully dedicated resources and committment to homeschooling, and I compare what they’re accomplishing (a comparison of what I can see in the flesh) with what our family is doing.  Though I LOVE getting my home and homeschool chores organized, I’m so relationship organized that I’d rather spend hours talking with my family and others than cleaning or shuffling school papers.  I’m thankful God gives us the blessing of encouragement through others like Jeannie and Karen, who’ve urged me on “toward love and good works” (Heb. 10:24). So, I plead, “when I am weak, then I am strong in You, Lord.”

_________

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.”  2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Leave a Reply

