It’s Better to Love People Than to Lord Over People

My husband and I have been studying scripture passages this past week, particularly the texts concerning male/female issues and a wonderful string of thoughts came to my mind. 

It’s better to love people than to lord over people.

1 Cor. 4:14-21 “I write not these things to shame you, but as my beloved sons I warn you. For though ye have ten thousand instructors in Christ, yet have ye not many fathers: for in Christ Jesus I have begotten you through the gospel. Wherefore I beseech you, be ye followers of me.

For this cause have I sent unto you Timotheus, who is my beloved son, and faithful in the Lord, who shall bring you into remembrance of my ways which be in Christ, as I teach every where in every church. Now some are puffed up, as though I would not come to you. But I will come to you shortly, if the Lord will, and will know, not the speech of them which are puffed up, but the power. For the kingdom of God is not in word, but in power. What will ye? shall I come unto you with a rod, or in love, and in the spirit of meekness?”

1 Cor. 13:13 “And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.” [love]

________

When a person lords themself over others, they are generally at risk or in fear of their position being usurped. A lot of torment goes with fear, but His perfect love for us and through us casts out fear:

________

1 John 4:15-21 “And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.”

“Herein is our love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as he is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love. We love him, because he first loved us.”

“If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen? And this commandment have we from him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.”

______

Even so, come, Lord Jesus, and let Your Love reign over us.

Leave a Reply

