Celebration and Disappointment

Wow! I’ve never seen so many disappointed Christian faces at a church celebration before! The worship songs were very edifying and the brisket was delicious (thanks, Buster’s BBQ!!), but the petitioning for political candidates during the fellowship time left people feeling disappointed and divided. People wanted to be heard, but peer pressure has never been a good enough reason to change anything. I have decided to not let anything like that cause division between brethren, if I can have anything to do with it.  “If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.” – (Romans 12:18) I have little confidence in politics or social reform. I have confidence in God’s work in the hearts captured for Christ, and only because of the power of His Holy Spirit. From now on, my silence on my preferences will have to be enough of an answer. I don’t want to cause my brethren to stumble, because there are people who gravitate towards one candidate or another.   I tend toward believing that all people disappoint. My Jesus is my only High King, Ruler of all things, and He gets my vote every time.

Leave a Reply

