A Good Word

Our family had a chance to spend time at another sister congregation this Sunday as my husband got to preach his first sermon.  We knew some of the families there from when they all used to go to our congregation, and it was an encouraging time.  My husband was nervous, though, as he treasures God’s Word and seeks to handle it accurately.

The passage was Matthew 11, when John the Baptist is sitting in prison and even sends his disciples to ask Jesus, “Are you he that should come, or do we look for another?”  Jesus answered and said, “Go and show John again those things which you do hear and see:  The blind receive their sight, and the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, and the deaf hear, the dead are raised up, and the poor have the gospel preached to them.”  The passage also deals with unbelief and my husband addressed it very well.  He’s not a polished pot, but a broken one who still seeks to follow hard after God.  He very much encouraged me with his emphasis on verses 28-30, “Come unto me, all you that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart:  and you shall find rest unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light,”  Jesus reminds us.

I was also reminded that when we seek to fill our lives with outward performance, it can soon become a heavy burden, if that performance isn’t coming from the strength of the Lord and is solely relying on our own wisdom, strength and willpower.  That’s why I glory in what Christ has done FOR me and for those I love and am captivated by His love for me.  It makes me want to sing and share with the world.  My husband has also been captivated by God’s love for him and I’ve seen him become transformed into a man after God’s own heart.  This month we will have been married 21 years, and I’m truly blessed to have walked this road of life with him.  He’s been the biggest source of encouragement to me in my faith, besides the Lord Himself.

I hope God places on his heart The Good Word to preach again soon.

Leave a Reply

