It’s a Living

One of the fun things about being a stay-at-home wife and mom is that there are many ways to earn an income at home.  I know a very busy homeschool mom that actually has her computer set up with another phone line to take customer-service calls directly, all while her children are sleeping.  She has told me she earns a bit of money that way, and I’m looking into it as well.

Many wives/moms are able to set up a cozy little eBay business and earn some money that way.  Some read books and give reviews on their blogs.  My brother recently referred me to a website approved by the Better Business Bureau called Traffic Wave.  I just earned a commision and I didn’t even have to do much of anything.  I can put a link in my personal emails, and if people are interested, they click on the link, and take a look around.  This is similar to one of my local friend’s mail business and I’m liking the online aspect Traffic Wave provides.  There’s a link in my LINKS category for the site.

Of course, there’s always the loose change found in the washer for mad money, but this seems to be proving to be a bit more lucrative.

What are some ways you dedicated moms, who haven’t the option at this time, are supplementing your households’ incomes?  I’d love to hear some ideas, because I have some pretty worn-out furniture I’d like to replace. 🙂

4 Responses to “It’s a Living”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Hi Kate —

    I’ve heard of the customer service things too, and it seems that many of them are legit. Here’s a relatively recent article I read on the topic that might be helpful.

    http://jobs.aol.com/article/_a/commute-to-work-in-30-seconds/20070814222309990001?ncid=AOLCOMMjobsDYNLprim0001

    I’ve done medical transcription from home for longer than I’d care to admit. Obviously, there’s fairly intensive training involved in that, and it’s not for everyone, but it has allowed me to always be home with my child as well as homeschool her. In fact, it’s been a lifesaver more than once financially.

    It would be interesting also to find out what sorts of things kids could do from home, i.e., how old does one have to be to start the call center type jobs. Perhaps someone will have thoughts on that.

    Hope this gives food for thought.

  2. choseninhim Says:

    Elizabeth,

    Thanks for the link. I’ve met several young entrepreneur’s just in our local community. There have been some homeschool teens I know from my church that are website developers. I know another homeschool mom that was a courier for a business. She basically ran odd-jobs for a local business, and had a flexible schedule. If I didn’t have to drive out of town 3 or 4 days of the week, I would have more time to pursue a creative money-making source.

  3. K. Says:

    Tust have been me you were talking about in your blog! Yes, I do the customer service thing from home and I love it.. .In fact, am logged in now and it is slow – no calls. That is how I have time to comment sometimes on blogs 🙂 Just to let everyone know my daughter when she turned 18 did this work too and she liked it. It is easier than medical transcription. Basically you are placing orders for people who call in when they see something they like on TV. Some are for customer support (I also do hotels). The companies I work for range a bit in pay and the holiday seasons are a great way to make some money. Anyone interested they can comment here and I will watch and post info. One great website that is helpful is called http://www.wahm.com (work at home moms is WAHM) – they have a plethora of information there with legit work.

  4. choseninhim Says:

    K.,

    I almost edited your comment (“Tust” should be “Must”; sorry — that’s the homeschool mom in me 🙂 ). I’m going to look at that link, but right now, my hands are so full of things that need attending in my family and friends. I’ll have to wait a while when I actually do something for pay. I received my first check from TrafficWave, though! That was encouraging, though it wasn’t huge.

    Your job sounds fun, actually, placing orders for people. Are people generally polite when they order something? Are they less enjoyable 😉 when people are calling for support? What time of day are the calling jobs?

Leave a Reply

