Living Lyrics: In Christ Alone, by the Newsboys

In Christ Alone

The song, In Christ Alone (click here for another worshipful video rendition) is sung in our congregation periodically.  The words are engraved on my heart.  This is a good version of the song, by the Newsboys. 

The Newsboys, who sang in the video posted here, have so many rich lyrics in their songs and really have some deep, sound doctrine in some of them that I’ve heard.  Joy, and He Reigns are two of my favorite songs, and I’ll be sharing more on those songs in the future.

Toby Mac, formally of DC Talk, has a song out called Made to Love, and it is fantastic.  I could write a lot about that song, but I’ll post that later.  And one more:  Chris Tomlin’s How Great is Our God is another favorite. Enjoy!

7 Responses to “Living Lyrics: In Christ Alone, by the Newsboys”

  1. choseninhim Says:

    In Christ Alone

    In Christ alone my hope is found
    He is my light, my strength, my song
    This Cornerstone, this solid ground
    Firm through the fiercest drought and storm
    What heights of love, what depths of peace
    When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
    My Comforter, my All in All
    Here in the love of Christ I stand

    In Christ alone, who took on flesh
    Fullness of God in helpless babe
    This gift of love and righteousness
    Scorned by the ones He came to save
    ‘Til on that cross as Jesus died
    The wrath of God was satisfied
    For every sin on Him was laid
    Here in the death of Christ I live

    There in the ground His body lay
    Light of the world by darkness slain
    Then bursting forth in glorious Day
    Up from the grave He rose again
    And as He stands in victory
    Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me
    For I am His and He is mine
    Bought with the precious blood of Christ

    No guilt in life, no fear in death
    This is the power of Christ in me
    From life’s first cry to final breath
    Jesus commands my destiny
    No power of hell, no scheme of man
    Can ever pluck me from His hand
    ‘til He returns or calls me home
    Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand

    ________________________________

    Joy

    If life is water, I was dry as the Tucson dirt
    If it’s a gamble, I’d already lost my shirt
    If it’s a journey, I was dazed without a clue
    I flipped a “U” back to the first love I ever knew

    You give me joy that’s unspeakable
    And I like it
    Your love for me is irresistible
    I can’t fight it
    You carried the cross and took my shame
    I believe it
    You shine your light of amazing grace
    I receive it

    If life’s a battle, the invasion is complete
    If it’s a rhythm, I have found the perfect beat
    If it’s a renaissance, I’ve got a new birthday
    The world don’t give it
    And the world can’t take it away

    Bowed and broken, everything’s new
    All that I need, you’re like water to seed
    And how your love, rights everything wrong
    In my weakness
    You’re ever stronger, you’re pulling me back
    Where I belong

    ______________________

    He Reigns

    It’s the song of the redeemed
    Rising from the African plain
    It’s the song of the forgiven
    Drowning out the Amazon rain
    The song of Asian believers
    Filled with God’s holy fire
    It’s every tribe, every tongue, every nation
    A love song born of a grateful choir

    It’s all God’s children singing
    Glory, glory, hallelujah
    He reigns, He reigns
    It’s all God’s children singing
    Glory, glory, hallelujah
    He reigns, He reigns

    Let it rise about the four winds
    Caught up in the heavenly sound
    Let praises echo from the towers of cathedrals
    To the faithful gathered underground
    Of all the songs sung from the dawn of creation
    Some were meant to persist
    Of all the bells rung from a thousand steeples
    None rings truer than this

    And all the powers of darkness
    Tremble at what they’ve just heard
    ‘Cause all the powers of darkness
    Can’t drown out a single word

    When all God’s children sing out
    Glory, glory, hallelujah
    He reigns, He reigns

    All God’s people singing
    Glory, glory, hallelujah
    He reigns, He reigns

  2. choseninhim Says:

    How Great is Our God

    The splendor of the King, clothed in majesty
    Let all the earth rejoice
    All the earth rejoice

    He wraps himself in Light, and darkness tries to hide
    And trembles at His voice
    Trembles at His voice

    How great is our God, sing with me
    How great is our God, and all will see
    How great, how great is our God

    Age to age He stands
    And time is in His hands
    Beginning and the end
    Beginning and the end

    The Godhead Three in One
    Father Spirit Son
    The Lion and the Lamb
    The Lion and the Lamb

    Name above all names
    Worthy of our praise
    My heart will sing
    How great is our God

    How great is our God, sing with me
    How great is our God, and all will see
    How great, how great is our God

  3. Derek Says:

    Noticed you over at Voice of the Sheep. Good to see you out there. Stay solid. I wish you and your family well.

    Enjoy the Day the Lord Has Given You,
    Derek

  4. choseninhim Says:

    It’s nice meet another friend. Brian’s blog is a good place to visit. Thank you for the encouragement.

    Peace and Joy through our Lord Jesus Christ!
    Kate

  5. Elizabeth Says:

    The Newsboys were instrumental a couple of years ago in turning my life and heart back to the Lord. The theological depth of some of their songs is truly inspiring. Thanks, Kate, for reminding me of them today. I’ve found much wisdom in many of your posts and wonder if you would be so kind as to e-mail me if you get the opportunity and have the inclination. Some things are best not discussed in public. Have a wonderful day and God bless you.

  6. choseninhim Says:

    Hello Elizabeth, and welcome in the Lord –

    I was an ’80’s teen (that would explain some of my music inclinations) and really appreciate the Newsboys style. My music tastes have grown to include many, many styles, but the thing that brings it to my heart of worship of God is that the lyrics are truth-soaked. When I hear particular lyrics and they remind me immediately of the Word written on my heart, that is what matters most to me.

    Thank you for the encouragement. I’d be glad to exchange e-mail with you. God bless.

    – Kate

  7. Elizabeth Says:

    I look forward to it, Kate. You can get my e-mail from my post even though it’s not published, is that correct? I’m not familiar with how these things work. I’ve often thought of blogging, but simply don’t have the time right now.

Leave a Reply

