My Treasure, His Obedience

Jesus' Perfect Obedience

  

His Perfect Obedience = my justification by faith in Christ’s perfect sacrificial Work.  Hallejuah!  What a Savior!

John Piper preached this sermon on the wondrous work of Jesus’ Saving Love on the cross.  He explains the two kinds of obedience that God cannot abide or despises and two corresponding kinds of obedience that God loves and delights in.  My husband and I listened to this sermon together last night and it confirmed everything I have felt in my heart about Jesus’ wonderful work completed for me, by the testimony of His Spirit and His Word.  Do you have your treasure in hand?  Does your obedience please God?  Take a listen to the mp3 above.

Galatians 2:16, Gal. 2:21, Gal. 3:21, Romans 3:28, Romans 5:18-19, Romans 10:3, 1 Cor. 1:30, Philippians 3:8-9, Luke 17:7-10, Luke 18:9-14, Luke 18:18, 1 Peter 4:17, 2 Thessalonians 1:7-8, 1 Corinthians 15:10, Psalm 116:12, 2 Corinthians 9:8, 2 Cor. 8:1-2

John Piper describes faith here:

“Obedience to the Gospel means faith.  What is faith?   Faith is unique. there is no other act of the human soul in the same category with faith. It is in a class by itself. Unless you get this, if you start stirring other stuff in there, to say ‘faith is like that, and faith is like that’, instead of faith is being absolutely unique, you will stir works, and your obedience in, and God will not be pleased. So, mark this definition: Faith in Christ for justification is a receiving of an alien obedience and not an offering of my own. It is a turning away from my obedience and my sufficience and saying “I’m undone! And even if I did everything I could do, I’d be undone! and I will embrace, I will receive the sacrifice of another.”

Faith is unique; it is a totally receiving act. It is not a pushing out act, it is a receiving of Christ and all that He is for us. So, yes there’s an obedience that pleases God, the obedience to the Gospel, called “faith”. [and that not of yourselves, it is a gift from God — Eph 2:8 — I added]

We could never “pay back” God’s grace.  We only become increasingly in debt to His merciful grace.  Out of our indebtedness, affliction, and poverty, our “grace-produced” (from J.Piper’s sermon), grace-dependent Joy overflows in a wealth of generosity on our parts.

Leave a Reply

