Daisies Kingdom

Daisies 

________ 

“And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:  And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.”  Matt. 6:29-30

________

 It’s been restful the last couple of days for me.  The weather isn’t too hot, but it’s sunny.  Regular school studies haven’t begun, but my teens are being creative with their activities:  my daughter is learning Asian calligraphy and my son plays works on his computer.  I’ve been reflecting on how much I’ve come to appreciate the simpler things in life and have been making conscious decisions to “un-plug” from what others/the world would want for our family. 

Some of our summertime activities have been:  Enjoying 2 bowls of popcorn with my daughter as we watch Shirley Temple movies together; observing with my daughter from our upstairs window the antics of my 15-yr-old son with his dad as they repair an old truck; and baking peanut butter cookies with my daughter.  We’ve played Dominoes, watched Madagascar and grilled burgers.  We really haven’t done anything spectacular together as a family, but we have spent time together, except our oldest son who is off at Army Airborne school now.  It’s just been relatively quiet here, but that’s good.  God knows our needs, and He knows when we need rest from weariness.

______

“There remaineth therefore a rest to the people of God.”  Heb. 4:9

______

Leave a Reply

