Proverbs 3:5-6

While perusing the web today I came across an interesting article that seems like it is very appropriate for the times we are living in. The article, “8 Signs of Immature, Carnal Christians” reveals just how easily it is to fall into the sin of man-worship, instead of fixing our eyes on Jesus Christ. It’s as easy as sitting in a pew on Sunday morning, taking what the preacher has to say as total truth without searching out the scriptures yourself with diligence.

I’ve fallen into this sin more times than I care to admit. Once I learned the truth of the Gospel, though, “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: [it is] the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast,” I have a zeal to guard what God has given me to share with others, and to admonish others to read the Bible to learn what God – not man – has to say. In fact, that is just what I said yesterday when two Jehovah’s Witnesses came to my front door. The words of men have shut them out from the truth of the Gospel. I pray God removes their blindness.

When I received the Gospel, after years of trying to “earn” grace or God’s acceptence, I not only recognized my spiritually dead, helpless state, I was so FILLED with overwhelming love for the God and Creator of the Universe Who had chosen me to be His child. That love that I felt and had for Him was so pure and full of thanksgiving. As the time has passed, I am grieved to realize that I am falling into the sin of giving a hoot about what man thinks of me. It doesn’t matter what others think. God has sent me His Love Letter found in The Holy Bible. Revelation 2:4 warns the church at Ephesus that they had left their first love. Even though they seemed to have good doctrine and works, they must have lost their love for God and were relying on something else to motivate them.

An interesting part of that passage is that the Church at Ephesus addressed here, hated the “deeds of the Nicolaitans,” which God also hated. Some scholars believe the Nicolaitans set up a hierarchal system to “control the spiritual needs of the common people.” They also were followers of Gnosticism and believed in “hidden spiritual knowledge”. Does this sound like anyone you’ve been looking up to spiritually lately? Even pastors, teachers, elders and “conference speakers” can come across as great men of spiritual insight. But what is their doctrine? What are their fruits? Do they genuinely treat you as their equal in the work of the Lord, or do they just use you for their own advancement?

My advice to anyone who is trying to sincerely seek after the truth in God’s Word would be to read your Bible (a reliable version – remember – the JW’s actually use their own corrupted version of the Bible), use a concordance if you want, and pray your heart out to God to give you wisdom and understanding.

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine

own understanding.

In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall

direct thy paths.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

