We Remember

                                    September 11, 2006

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.  Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.  And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.  And I will be found of you, saith the LORD.”

Jeremiah 29:11-14

Most people today are remembering the events that took place 5 years ago that shaped history.  Our nation is constantly reminded by the media and by changes in how we travel as Americans of just how dangerous the world can be.  I remember on September 11, 2001 and the few days following, how there were no planes flying in the skies overhead.  It was strange, especially since we see airplanes in the skies frequently where we live.

So today, as I looked up and saw the faint contrails of jets in the eastern morning sky, I was reminded of that time when our nation, and especially the grieving families of lost loved ones, had little hope and much fear.  I am thankful to God that my family and I can still live relatively free from terror in this country that He has sovereignly chosen for us to live in.

I am grateful to those who serve to protect our country and continue to keep a vigilant watch over our freedoms.  I say a prayer for the families and for the emergency responders that to this day suffer the pain of great loss.  I pray we all never have to go through such a thing ever again.

Let’s remember and thank the God of all comfort who comforts us in our sorrows.

Leave a Reply

