Where There’s Life, There’s Hope

[This is what God can do with an unplanned pregnancy.  I write this, my testimony of His great work in my life.  – Kathleen]

                                 My flowers

“You’re not only pregnant, you’re about 3 months along,” the county health nurse told me as I sat in the exam room, not fully comprehending what she told me. I was 19-years-old, in a job that barely paid enough to live on, and I had just broken up with my boyfriend. These things were only compounded by the fact that I had insulin-dependent diabetes and an eating disorder that I had struggled with for years. This was my second pregnancy test in the last 3 months. I had taken one that showed negative at the same clinic just about 3 months earlier, but had missed my cycles all those months. Something had definitely changed in my life since then and I knew in my heart God had His Hand in the midst of all those details.

Before I had taken the negative pregnancy test 3 months earlier, my boyfriend and I discussed what we should do if it turned up positive and he suggested that we should go to the city and have an abortion. My heart sank then, and I felt that he just didn’t love me enough to marry me and raise a child together. I agreed, very sadly, though I had never formed an opinion on abortion before. Of course a pregnancy meant a baby, but the actual implications of “aborting” a pregnancy never entered my mind as being equal to “killing a baby.”

During those 3 months, my boyfriend and I were invited to attend a small rural church with one of his co-workers. When Sunday came, he was unable to attend and encouraged me to go. When I got there I was greeted by silver-haired men and women who genuinely took an interest in me and the following Sunday I brought my boyfriend with me. There, we learned the Bible, struggled with our sin and met with the pastor who began teaching us the Bible. I wanted to be married and raise a family, but my boyfriend was not ready yet. So, during those 3 months our relationship became more and more strained, we broke up and eventually I moved out and got my own small apartment. My pastor encouraged me to place my faith in Jesus Christ and that He would care for my needs, like a husband. I cried out to God and knew that I needed Him to help me in every aspect of my life. I started trusting God the day my boyfriend and I broke up. That’s the situation I found myself in while sitting in that county health office.  Little did I know, the times of trusting God were just beginning.

Coming Up: Where There’s Life, There’s Hope (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

