Oatmeal for the Soul

                                oatmeal to warm the heart

Health experts say that eating oatmeal is good for the heart.  They claim, “Eating a good-sized bowl of oatmeal for 30 days will actually help remove cholesterol from your body.” I actually try to eat a bowl of oatmeal several times a week to keep me healthy.

Chicken soup can help to soothe you when you’re suffering from a cold, but it cannot cure the ills of a sick soul. Many modern authors have capitalized on trying to address the needs of the hurting human soul, but leave the reader with a false assurance of peace with God and conscience.

God’s word for the spiritual heart is like oatmeal for the physical heart. The physical heart needs nutrition to keep it healthy and strong and we need the Bible to get the spiritual help for our spiritual hearts or souls.

The hard-hitting article The Scriptures and the World by Arthur W. Pink (warning: Don’t click here unless you want to carefully examine your own heart) will help us to take a sober look at ourselves. The ultimate judge of our hearts is God and His word. In Hebrews 4:12 it states “For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”

I find myself agreeing with the Apostle Paul in Romans 7:24-25
“O wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.”

So, as I evaluate my daily life I must make sure I’m not neglecting God’s word and its instructions to live, not being caught up in the things of this world that cannot benefit me eternally. Then I can be comforted by this verse:

Romans 8:1
“There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.”The “oatmeal” of God’s word. A nutritious breakfast.– Kathleen

Leave a Reply

