Chosen In Him

Ephesians 1:3-5
                               img_0173.JPG

I remember being taught TULIP vs. Arminianism a few years ago and I didn’t understand, really, the importance of the difference between the two positions and why it causes such division between people (“For the Word is God is quick and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit” ….. “Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.” ( Heb. 4:12, Matt. 10:34).

But the Lord has opened my eyes to the truth. A little over 3 years ago, the Lord brought the Doctrines of Grace to me and I read for days, devouring what scripture was telling me. I remember a conversation I had with someone at a shared meal a few years ago and we were discussing whether a person could lose their salvation. I thought I could remove myself from the Father’s Hand through sin, losing my strength to believe, etc. But once God opened my heart to the truth, it’s as if He gave me new eyes in which to read the Scripture. Praise the Lord! I can even understand some of the hard passages in the Old Testament where God had heathen nations destroyed (men, women, and children) because God knew all men’s hearts; he doesn’t just know whether they will “choose him” in the future. He predestinated people, and not just their actions.

God opened my eyes to truth when I read the critical doctrines on some biblically sound websites. It was a wonderful transformation. I struggled with this challenge until I had understanding from Scripture. God supernaturally opened my eyes to the Word.

One way I came to understand the Scriptures dealing with election was that I got an idea in my mind, a mental picture of Jesus Christ before time began, existing outside of “spacetime.” He was choosing His Elect, as it says in Eph. 1:4, building up His own Body. He called them by name and placed them within Himself. When Jesus came to earth to pay for their sins on the cross, He died for them. Thus, we are “in Christ” when He died (for I am crucified with Christ….Gal. 2:20) and we are “in Him”. I was in Christ when He died on the cross for my sins. I was raised with Jesus when He resurrected from the grave.However, when I was born into this physical world I was born spiritually dead in my sins (read John 3:1-8) and needed to be born again into life eternal. When GOD opened my eyes to the truth of The Gospel of Grace I was convinced in my spirit who Jesus was and was compelled to repentance and drawn to Him. I was dead, like Lazarus, and was made alive in my spirit by the power of God’s Holy Spirit.

Knowing and accepting God’s Word (KJV has been the best for me) has been the only standard for truth since then. Understanding the critical doctrines that the puritans, martyrs and early church is vital to understanding the times we live in and the deception of false doctrines that are so very subtle sometimes. Being “in Christ” is actual and real to me. I didn’t understand it until I understood the doctrine of election, or God choosing me before the foundation of the world. No one can pluck me out of the Father’s hand (John 10:25-29). He knows me and loves me and I delight in that.”

I believed in a free-will gospel for almost 18 years as a Christian and was miserable. I had no security in my salvation. When God, who is rich in mercy, showed me His truth, he transformed my mind and I know that I am His. Not because I was “smart enough to choose Him; knew a good thing when I saw it,” etc.

Another truth that God led me to was an understanding of Historicism, which John Calvin taught. It’s been a blessing to learn that perspective as well. Look at the passage of Lazarus, John chap. 11. THIS was the clincher for me. Most people will look at that passage as just another one of Jesus’ astonishing miracles but the Lord teaches us about election, rebirth in this passage. Why didn’t Jesus raise up the other people who were dead in the tombs? Because Lazarus was “he whom thou lovest”. A.W. Pink, as well as other great Reformers, taught some wonderful things about this passage teaching that we are all as dead as Lazarus, unless/until Christ by His Spirit brings life to us – Particular Redemption. God has led me to some debates/discussion forums on Sermonaudio.com about election, calvinism and arminianism, and I can see how it really divides people.

I am just so grateful to God that he chose me that I want to share with many these truths. Knowing it is God that is in charge of who is elected to eternal life with Him or elected to eternal damnation is not for me to worry about – He will draw those who are His to himself, as He did draw me. I now seek to share the Gospel with the world and trust that His Word is planted and will not return unto Him void.

In Christ,
Kathleen

Eph.1, John 2:24-25, John 6:29,37,39,44, John 10:27-30, John 11:1-44, John 13:1, John 15, Rom. 8:28-32, Gal. 2:20, Col. 2:12-15, 2 Tim. 1:9, Titus 3:5-7, and the whole of Scripture.

Leave a Reply

